The Map

Earlier in my “Why Umedyn?” post, I mentioned a map I had done for my steampunk/fantasy game concept I had been working on for years now. This is that map. Before I show it to you, I want to give some backstory on how I made this map. This map, quite frankly, took me literally weeks to make, because for one, it is all hand drawn, even the grid of lines. Two, this map is freakin HUGE! In real life, this map takes up seven 8×11 papers, all the trees are hand drawn individually, and it took me so much time to do, but it was rewarding in the end, because it is one of the coolest projects I have ever tackled, especially in relation to my game. So, without further ado, here is that map… I wonder how big it’s going to show on this…

FullMapcontrast.jpg

As a note, as I always do, there are some things to note about this particular piece. One is the fact that all the names for places and cities are all from my own head, I tried hard as hell to copy nothing from other references, like names, and landmasses. Second is that there are about 13-14 different countries in this map, if you look closely at the names, you may be able to see where one ends and the other begins.

If you look closely, you can even see where one sheet of paper began, and where it ends, showing just how much time I put into this. There are mythos, history, legends, creation stories and so much more that pepper this map, which will probably leak through to my pages, as I will showcase some of the drawings and concepts I did for this project, as some look really cool, particularly the face concepts for some of the races.

That’s enough rambling for now, so, as always, I hope you like my art, if you do, you can follow me on Twitter at @Umedyn where you can sit and see Nuk stare at your very soul from the header… Speaking of Nuk, I am going to try and record a new, and first drawing video for my Youtube channel, so look forward to that coming soon, and as always, if you like what I draw, you can donate to me via Patreon, where the first 5 patrons (there are none so far) will get a personal drawing of any kind done for them, and a video showcasing how I made it (With a shorter time lapse video as well, with some music added to the background for more fun)!

So, until next time!

-Umedyn

4 thoughts on “The Map

  1. Pingback: Implied Space – Deconstructed Wave | Implied Spaces

  2. Pingback: Why Kokoro No Kinu? – My Thoughts – Umedyn

  3. Pingback: I want to create a game… Magicka Mechanica – Umedyn

  4. Pingback: November Update #6 – Map v2.0 | Umedyn

Leave a comment