I want to create a game… Magicka Mechanica

As many of you know, I am an artist.What some you don’t know, is that I also want to design games, and in a few ways I have. I have not created the games, per se, but I have created the worlds to a few of them. I want to talk about one of them, A game I have had in my head for years, and have created many many notes on, but don’t have the technical know-how or ability to even begin the technical side.

Do any of you remember The Map I showcased when I started this “blog”? Well that wasn’t just any map, that was a map for a game I want to make one day. A game called Magicka Mechanica.

Magicka Mechanica is a steampunk, open world, character driven high fantasy game. To imagine it, think of Skyrim, set that in a 1910s setting, and add steampunk, and you would have my game, in the most basic of senses. The game I want to design has one rule in it, What ever you want to make, make it, what ever you want to be, be it.

Do you want to be a politician that works to better the people of a country and bring forth a new Utopia under your rule? Do it. Do you want to be a necromancer that creates a horde of undead to protect your lair while researching ways to make your creations more powerful? Do it. Do you want to be a simple hunter, a mechanical genius building wonderful contraptions, a pirate plundering ships and ransacking costal cities, a military general flying on the back of a dragon attacking a war blimp that is spitting a haze of gattling gun fire as a war rages below? Then be that, do that, plunder and wage that war.

I want this game to be the most versatile, most open game ever created, with the political, economical and social complexities of the likes no other game has ever created. You attack a town that is ruled by another country, and your a member of another country, you may start a war. You assassinate a prominant political figure of a country? You may throw that country into chaos.

This is no idle thought, I have spent years building this world up, creating country, cultural and racial backgrounds, weapons, creatures, armors, races to be and experience. to reiterate, I want to make this game!

But there is one problem,

I don’t know how…

I don’t know where to start…

This idea, this game, has been on my mind more than any other project… more than this comic, more than any comic I have made, and more than any other game idea I’ve had. I just don’t know where to start. I don’t want to go to some large publishing company because I don’t trust them. I don’t trust them to honor my vision I want for this game. I have a clear vision of what I want this game to be…

I just don’t know what to do…

Maybe this is just an idle dream, that I could never do it… But I want to, more than anything.

And some day, I hope I will.

-Umedyn

Leave a Reply

