July Update #4 – Chapter 4 Soon!

Hello Everyone!

I hope everyone had a great pride month, and I hope you liked the separate works I did for it! Things are about to get back into full swing for me! I have everything I need to start drawing the pages for Chapter 4 of Kokoro No Kinu!

So what took so long? Well logistics. I write every chapter when I make them, meaning that I don’t start working on the page layout for the chapter until I am working on that chapter. This makes it so the images I envisioned stay fresh in my mind while drawing the pages.

The other reason is a bit obvious to those who know Japanese (or those who follow my Twitter, @Umedyn… enough of the selfish plug) If you haven’t noticed, all of my sound effects  (sfx) are written in Hiragana. This wouldn’t be too much of a problem, but sfx in Japanese (along with a few other things like foreign words, Onomatopoeia, etc) are written in Katakana.

I want to make my manga as authentic as I possibly can (without actually translating everything) to Japanese made manga, so I had to convert my SFX list from Hiragana to Katakana. I have a huge SFX list, so this was a long process. At some point I am going to go back and fix the previous chapters to have Katakana as well.

So with this done, and the page layout/script finished, I have every I need to start working on Chapter 4! So look forward to those starting next week! A bit about this chapter though.

This chapter may get into “trigger” territory… and not just words, but actual PTSD related trigger territory. This next chapter is going to go down a dark path (if you have been following the last chapter, you may guess what is about to happen…) For this I’m going to have to change somethings about how I post (since everything is automatically tweeted out) so I’m going to have a title pic so the page isn’t shown on the home page or on twitter, since the first image is always shown when posts happen.

Anyway, I’m off to start drawing Chapter 4! Hope you all are looking forward to it!

-Umedyn

Leave a comment