CG Character Production Project – Basic CG Model

So, this leg of my character design project has been taking up more of my time and frustration than I was expecting, all because of one mistake. This project is the main reason I haven’t finished my latest page of Kokoro No Kinu. This project had so much unnecessary clean-up because I made a small, but huge mistake.

That mistake you might ask? I used a mirror modifier on my model.

Now this is usually a very smart idea when creating a CG character, so you only have to make one side of it, then mirror so both sides match. I did this too, but with one major mistake. You see, when you mirror, you should only have ONE SIDE of the model.

I did not have that.

I basically mirrored both sides of my model. This meant that inside my sculpted model was another, nearly identical model. This screwed EVERYTHING up. Both layers were merged together, meaning I couldn’t just separate them and delete the duplicate.

I spent countless hours fixing the mistakes that made.

Being the idiot I was, I didn’t realize that Blender, the program I am using, has a remesh modifier, which basically made all my hours of constant fixing worthless.

Literally worthless.

Remesh basically does what it says, it remeshed the CG character I had been designing, lowering the polygon count and merged the whole thing, so I had a nice, neat simple polygon mesh of my character.

The sculpting began again.

This was fairly easy, because I already had the design down, it was just recreating it, and I did. So here is my basic “Alien” model, My next steps are the dreads/hair/tendrils(?) and the clothing/tech. this should be fairly easy though.

The next page of Kokoro No Kinu should be out later this week.
AlienAlien1Alien2Alien3

