CG Character Production Project – Clay Model

I hate clay. That is the major take away after 5 pounds of it and over 18 hours of work. At every turn something broke, snapped off or just decided it didn’t want to stay connected to the rest of the model. I spent the last 4 hours of this project, and about a pound of the clay to repairs. The legs would not stop breaking. After hours of frustration I glued and taped the damned legs together, and it seemed to work.

I got the clay statuette standing, resting on a Mountain Dew bottle by it’s nub arms because I didn’t have enough clay for the rest of them after repairs, glued it to a heavy sandwiched cardboard base, using some tacky glue that dries clear. This is the result of my hard work.

And now for the best part of this story.

I get this thing wrapped in some bubble wrap and placed in a box that it barely fits in, but it’s nice and secure, no problem, no problem for the hour+ that it’s in the box, nice and neat. I get ready for school, get my box of my hard work, and I step out my door.

SNAP

Something in the box broke, and now my hard work is laying in pieces at the bottom of this box, bubble wrapped for it’s protection.

I haven’t looked at it yet. I’m guessing, both the legs and the tail has broken, again.

Now I am stuck carrying around a box of my failure until three o’ clock today, a large constant reminder of what I had worked so hard on, that broke as soon as I took a step outside.

This is why I hate clay.

there is one positive takeaway from this whole ordeal, I am more determined than ever to make the CG 3d model work, now more than ever. I guess my teacher will judge my progress and decide if I should attempt it. His input won’t change my resolve.

I will finish what I started, a box of broken dreams beside me or not.

I will fight on,

-Umedyn

Leave a Reply

