CG Character Production Project – Design Concept

So, as some of you know, I’m currently in a CG Character Design class for my degree. Our main project for the semester is to create a 3d model and animation of a character from the design process to animation.

So I thought “Why not share the process while I am working on it?”

So I am!

The steps are basically The design phase, where I am currently in, the clay model, then CG model and last animation.

My design for this class is an alien of my own creation, currently I have only created the “nude” design of the alien. I am going to draw up a concept for “her” clothing and tech. Here are the concept sketches for my alien.

alien1alien2alien3

Since this is going to be a bit more advanced than the average of what my class is going to do, I have to prove to the teacher that I can actually pull this off, I have to create “her” head in CG to prove I can do the work. I started this during class, and here is the progress I have on the head model so far:

Head1.png

I’m using Blender for sculpting the character model… and let me say, I never knew how much fun it is to sculpt a CG model with a graphic tablet. I am loving the process.

I’ll be keeping you all updated as I work on this project!

-Umedyn

Leave a Reply

