Kokoro No Kinu Chapter 3 Page 9

After the long summer of drought, I have completed the next page of Kokoro No Kinu! The reason I didn’t complete it before (during the summer when I wanted to actually finish chapter three) was that I hit a particularly hard creative block that lasted the whole summer. This page had something to do with it.

While making it, I had a hard time trying to figure out how to layout this page. I had to literally re-arrange and tweak every panel in this page to fit the flow of the comic. after that brain wracking I hadn’t drawn anything until last week, when I hit pen to paper and the muse came flooding back!

So, without further ado, here is page 9 of chapter 3 of Kokoro No Kinu!

Ch3 Page 9.png

One of the problems I’ve been having is that I’m trying to incorporate more angles in the shots, switching things up, I noticed that I had fallen into the same two types of shots (this page has some of that).

The first, which isn’t as bad is establishing shots, looking at what’s on the table, or showing the outside of something etc.

The other type of panel that I have been working on correcting, is for some reason I had fallen into the leveled shot of a person, (basically if you had taken a camera shot at eye level of the character). You can notice this in panel 3 and panel 5 of this page for reference of what I mean. I have been meaning to change this up, add more detailed panels as well (see panel 1 for what I mean).

I’m still not sure about shadows, not how to add them, I think I’m pretty okay at that, but if and where to add them. If you notice, a decent number of other manga shade the background and scene, but don’t shade the characters, or if they do, it’s usually cross hatching, I’ve been wondering about that.

This chapter I’m experimenting with only shading the clothes on the characters, I’m trying to blend the use of detail and the minimalist style that manga usually has. I guess I’m still trying to figure out what style really works and looks best for me.

But with that being said, I think my muse has returned enough that I can actually get nose to the grindstone and actually make these pages on a more regular basis again.

EDIT: I had to replace the image, as it turns out, I had forgotten to add the shadows on part of the characters! Fixed now.

Until then you know how to contact me, and if you don’t just look below!

You can follow and contact me these ways:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Umedyn/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/umedyn
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpCnXMlrOlIR_X4H4G-WZNA
Tumblr:  http://umedyn.tumblr.com/
Email: Umedynartist@gmail.com
Ask.fm: https://ask.fm/umedyn

You can also donate to my art on Patreon
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/Umedyn

So onward and upward to the next page!

-Umedyn

Leave a Reply

